Books and Judgments | Part 2

In last part of this blog (Link Here), I undertook an imperative and discomforting venture to restrict my reading to a maximum of three books at a time. This ‘block’ was definitive, immutable and uncomplicated. The structure organised my practices and made it a productive exercise without taking away the challenge that reading as an activity offers.

On the onset, the ‘Block’ structure was a tough taskmaster. I had to push through some of the parts and passages of the books. That of course, in retrospect is indispensable in a knowledge environment. However, I was unable to complete all three of the books in the block.

The one that is left unread is Bulfinch’s Mythology. I have made some progress on it, but the word of mythology is too new for me. It has become an undertaking of frustration and disappointment to complete this book. To compensate for this set back, I will finish reading a minimum 150 pages before Block 3’s inception.

That being said, here are the three books I will be reading in my new block:

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  2. Courts and Their Judgments by Arun Shourie
  3. Pleasure Activism by Adrienne Maree Brown

Leave a comment